Netzwerk Nanosilber

Hohenstein Institut für Textilinnovation gGmbH

Founded in 1946 and managed as a family-owned company to this day, the Hohenstein Institutes with their roughly 500 employees at the Bönnigheim site and in about 30 offices around the world are among the most important independent research and test facilities in the textile sector. As an application-oriented research institution, we predominantly see ourselves as an economy partner. Particularly small and medium-sized enterprises (SME) can profit of the practice-oriented solutions that our interdisciplinary specialist teams develop together. 

The specialist area of hygiene, environment and medicine in the Hohenstein Institutes is a Life Sciences service and research centre. Doctors, human biologists, microbiologists, molecular biologists, chemists and textile scientists cooperate to find industry and health management solutions in the facility. 

In hygiene, we support manufacturers and service providers with test services for preventive health protection and up-to-date hygiene specifications before their products enter trade. At the same time, we develop products to market maturity on customers' orders or with public research funds. Our service range comprises, among others, antimicrobial examinations of surfaces and products, hygiene monitoring, water examinations and special odour examinations (e.g. sweat odour). In research and development, we work, e.g., on the interruption of infection chains, avoiding of bio films or the influence of antimicrobial textiles on the skin flora.

In the environmental area, eco-toxicology examinations are conducted to record the effects of substances on the living environment and their "repercussions" on humans. By assessing the risk potentials of substances that are marketed, we contribute essentially to the statutorily required reduction of strain and create the data basis for compliance with intact environmental and living conditions by scientifically founded assessment of the interrelations of environmental factors and human health. Our performance range includes, e.g., examinations on toxicity of sewage and watery excrement (daphnia, light bacteria tests, early larval stage test at the zebra fish), material inspections for smell and emission, genetic analysis and genetic fingerprint (e.g. transgenetic cotton, animal specials) and the environmental compatibility of nano-products. 

Product developments and test performances are at the focus specifically in medicine. They take place in an economically oriented and application-compatible manner. We develop innovative textile systems for medical applications and thus make an important contribution to our modern health-care system. We are particularly interested in the interactions of textiles and people which are recorded in accredited or customised test benches. Therefore, we inspect materials for human-toxic or allergenic properties that will come into contact with the human body at intended use. We offer occupational-medicine examinations on performance capacity, mite and insect tests as well as allergy and pyrogenetic analyses in addition to skin and compatibility tests (such as skin compatibility, cytotoxicity, genotoxicity and irritations) and skin-physiological measurements in donor skin and test persons. In research, we develop, among others, artificial fat tissue of biopolymers and stem cells as soft tissue replacement or modern wound dressings with drug-delivery properties and examine the interaction between textile and skin.

www.hohenstein.de

Netzwerk Nanosilber

Hohenstein Institut für Textilinnovation gGmbH

1946 gegründet und bis heute als Familienunternehmen geführt, gehören die Hohenstein Institute mit insgesamt rund 500 Mitarbeitern am Standort Bönnigheim sowie in weltweit rund 30 Kontaktbüros zu den bedeutendsten unabhängigen Forschungs- und Prüfungseinrichtungen im textilen Sektor. Als anwendungsnahe Forschungseinrichtung verstehen wir uns in erster Linie als Partner der Wirtschaft. Besonders kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen (KMU) profitieren von den praxisorientierten Lösungen, die unsere interdisziplinär arbeitenden Spezialisten-Teams gemeinsam entwickeln. 

Der Fachbereich Hygiene, Umwelt & Medizin an den Hohenstein Instituten ist ein Dienstleistungs- und Forschungszentrum der Life Sciences. Am Fachbereich arbeiten Mediziner, Humanbiologen, Mikrobiologen, Molekularbiologen, Chemiker und Textilwissenschaftler an Lösungen für die Industrie und das Gesundheitswesen. 

In der Hygiene unterstützen wir Hersteller und Dienstleister durch Prüfleistungen im Sinne des vorbeugenden Gesundheitsschutzes und aktueller Hygienevorgaben, bevor ihre Produkte in den Handel gelangen. Zugleich entwickeln wir Produkte im Kundenauftrag oder über öffentliche Forschungsgelder zur Marktreife. Unser Leistungsspektrum umfasst u.a. antimikrobielle Untersuchen von Oberflächen und Produkten, Hygienemonitoring, Wasseruntersuchungen und spezielle Geruchsuntersuchungen (z.B. Schweißgeruch). In Forschung und Entwicklung arbeiten wir z.B. an der Unterbrechung von Infektketten, der Vermeidung von Biofilmen oder am Einfluss antimikrobieller Textilien auf die Hautflora.

Im Bereich Umwelt erfassen ökotoxikologische Prüfungen die Wirkung von Stoffen auf die belebte Umwelt und deren „Rückwirkung“ auf den Menschen. Durch Abschätzung der Risikopotentiale von Stoffen, die in Verkehr gebracht werden, leisten wir einen wichtigen Beitrag zu der gesetzlich geforderten Minderung der Belastung und schaffen, durch wissenschaftlich fundierte Bewertung der Zusammenhänge von Umweltfaktoren und Gesundheit des Menschen, die Datengrundlage für die Einhaltung intakter Umwelt- und Lebensbedingungen. So umfasst unser Leistungsspektrum z.B. Untersuchungen zur Toxizität von Abwasser und wässrigen Extrakten (Daphnien-, Leuchtbakterientest, Early Larval Stage Test am Zebrafisch), Materialprüfungen auf Geruch und Emission, Genanalysen und genetischer Fingerabdruck (z.B. transgene Baumwolle, Tierrassen) sowie die Umweltverträglichkeit von Nanoprodukten. 

Speziell in der Medizin stehen Produktentwicklungen und Prüfleistungen im Vordergrund, die wirtschaftsnah und anwendungsnah erfolgen. Wir entwickeln innovative Textilsysteme für medizinische Anwendungen und leisten so einen wichtigen Beitrag in unserem modernen Gesundheitssystem. Besonders interessieren uns die Wechselwirkungen von Textilien mit dem Menschen. Diese werden mittels akkreditierter oder individueller Versuchsstände erfasst. Deshalb prüfen wir Materialien auf humantoxische oder allergene Eigenschaften, die bei vorhersehbarem Gebrauch in Kontakt mit dem menschlichen Körper kommen. Neben Haut und Verträglichkeitstests (wie z.B. Hautfreundlich, Zytotoxizität, Genotoxizität und Irritationen) und hautphysiologischen Messungen an Spenderhaut und Probanden bieten wir auch Arbeitsmedizinische Untersuchungen zur Leistungsfähigkeit, Milben- und Insektentests sowie Allergie- und Pyrogenanalysen an. In der Forschung entwickeln wir u.a. künstliches Fettgewebe aus Biopolymeren und Stammzellen als Weichteilersatz oder moderne Wundverbände mit drug-delivery Eigenschaften und untersuchen die Wechselwirkung zwischen Textil und Haut.

www.hohenstein.de